Monday, August 31, 2015

First day of 3RD Grade!


The obligatory first day of school pose. I intend to do this every year through High School! hahahahaha
I can't even. Like literally, I CANT EVEN. Isn't that what all the young tweens and teens are saying these days? Im not sure when it happened or if I've fully absorbed my current situation, but it is this........I have a 3rd grader. That means a couple of things to me. 

1. We're not total crap parents.  She is still happy, smiling, smart, beautiful, kind, caring and an absolute JOY to be around. #wemadethat

2. Life needs to S-L-O-W down. I just walked her into kindergarten a few months ago. That is absolutely how it feels. 
2010-2015 Back to School Pictures


We've been in Japan without Doug for a couple months now and together a LOT. We "really"only  know one person, our friend Jeannie, so Ava and I have spent every moment together. I have REALLY been looking forward to her going back to school for a few weeks.......err months now. Not because I want to be alone, well....partly, but mostly because I need a schedule. This is the first time in my adult life I haven't been employed. Im working diligently on that, but the job market is very scarce for spouses in Japan. Ava NEEDS constant attention, motivation, encouragement, a stimulating environment, friends, social activities and play time. I am the person and I am TIRED. I've always wondered what a SAHM would feel like and in these past months I've had a taste. I think this is a new role that needs time still to fully adapt. Im sure in time my feelings will wax and wane but I really think I am meant to be at work! I hope I get back there soon! That being said, I am the type of person the thrives on a schedule and a busy workload. 1st day of School was a reason to CELEBRATE!!!  ( or so I thought) 


Making brownies for Mrs. Surratt 

Peace signs are just what you do in Japan 

Packing her backpack

Ava spent the night before 3rd grade making brownies, packing her backpack and laying out her outfit for the day. Coming from a Catholic School where she wore uniforms everyday, this was the HIGHLIGHT of back-to-school for her! Im gonna be doing soooo much more laundry now! Her outfits all have accessories and alternating pieces. Her style has changed so much! 

I had her go to be at 8pm. Out non-schedule has been so erratic and chaotic that I knew she needed to be in bed SUPER early. At 9pm we were up drinking chamomile tea and talking about "fun" stuff that would make good dreams come. She tossed and turned for a while, and finally fell asleep just before 10. We'll do better tonight. The plus side is school is less than a mile away and we can leave our house 7 minutes before the bell rings. 

It was wet and drizzly outside when we got up. This is NOT good for first day have-no-car-and-want-pretty-hair-with-a-bow situation. We did the best we could, and set off on our bikes to get her to school. She didn't understand why in the world I would want to follow her to school and pick her up. The deal is every day for 2-3 weeks, then "maybe" she can go alone. Its so close its funny, but she is still only 8. (and my baby) 

We were told that at the school all the teachers would be out holding signs to let your child know where to line up by 730. At 7:25, no teachers, no signs and what felt like a thousand parents and kids aimlessly wondering the front courtyard. This is gonna be a disaster. Then, like a higher power heard my OCD inner cries, at 7:30 on the dot, all the teachers with signs walked out and got everyone in order. There are close to 1200 kids in this school. It needs ORDER. It was a very smooth and seamless process. 


 She looked so little out there in all those people. This is where I got sad. The bell rang after the base CO gave his welcome speech and in a instant she was up the steps and gone. 
Ava and Jasmine, a classmate. 

Bye, buggaboo!! 


































I came home to an empty house. A quiet empty house. Its exactly what Ive wanted for a while now. Just a little peace. Japan is a VERY quiet country. Everywhere you go, even in crowds, there is little noise. Its kind of eerie. Today was no exception. I don't like this kind of quiet. I immediately missed her and wanted 14:00 to hurry up. She is so chatty ALL the time. I need that chatter in my life.  I couldn't wait to hear how her day was! I literally did nothing. The house is barely dirty and its rainy and yucky outside. I did some laundry, cuddled with Chief and watched The Carrie Diaries. 

I got to school early and waited by her bike for the bell. 

As soon as I saw her, I KNEW she had an awesome day. She was glowing. She had Art today, which is always a plus and she won a prize for getting the most points on an assignment 29/30! The child under her got 15 points. She got a new Hello Kitty bag to take home. She was so excited telling me her story. How it happened, the look on the teachers face when she asked if anyone had higher than "15" and how she came up with her art paper. 

She made new friends, LOVED her teacher and was surprisingly in a hurry to get home and do her homework. Thursdays are "catch-up" days for assignments in the homework lab and she doesnt want to EVER go there. It interferes with recess. Hahaha!!

Overall it was an AWESOME first day! She completed all her homework, and did some ahead for the week. Then the doorbell started ringing. Its play time! Zoya, the little neighbor girl couldn't wait for Ava to be done and sat on our front steps pacing. She's going to love this school! 
Logging into all her new school webpages!
Her new Hello Kitty purse
































No comments:

Post a Comment