 |
| Landmark Tower, Yokohama |
School shopping is always something I loved to do when I was growing up. I don't know how my mother made it so fun for us and kept her cool having three kids. We shopped at Walmart mostly and some at the mall. We NEVER went without anything and she made sure we had that things we wanted. Shopping in the States was never an issue for Ava. I knew exactly what she needed and where to go to get the best deals. I always shopped on discount days at Gymboree or had my 30-40% off coupons for the Gap. Old Navy sent me constant emails of deals and for those super special outfits my Matilda Jane rep kept me in the circle with all the promotions MJ had to offer. I also had something called a car then, so multiple trips on various days wasn't an issue. This year was tricky.
None of those mailers or promotions from the sates work here and the choices of American stores are pretty limited. I really had to do my research and find the shopping centers that would have comparable things to buy for her. I ask a TON of questions from other moms in the area that are seasoned shoppers and got help from all the English translatable websites before we headed out. The area that had the most to choose from was Landmark Tower in Yokohama. We planned to go on Monday but the weather was just terrible. This wouldn't normally be a problem, but we bike from out house to the gate, then we have a 5-10 minute walk to get to the Train Station. Rain doesn't sound any fun so we waited until wednesday and had a beautiful day.
We took a train from Yokosuka to Yokohama (about 30 minutes away) and then took a transfer line to the area of Landmark Tower. We made it without getting lost and were super proud of ourselves! My girlfriend Jeannie went with us!
Before we went to the mall area, we stopped at Cosmo World. Its a really nice outdoor adventure park that has so much to offer for all ages! We met the cutest little Japanese couple outside of the gate, waiting for them to open. They were 15 and I assumed brother and sister, but they let me know quickly they were "a couple". They practiced their English with us for 2 0 minutes or so. They were absolutely darling. They told Ava how pretty she was in the best English they could and told us how much FUN the park was, they were "professional" park goers.
The primary reason to stop at the Park was to ride "Vanish", Yokohama's famous underwater vanishing coaster. Ava and I watched multiple you-tube videos and really prepped her for the ride. It was when we were about to get into the seat that she chickened out. We hadn't waited long because the park just opened and we were there so early or this probably would've upset me. I already bought her ticket and was sure they didn't do refunds. I tried to quickly talk her into it, when she burst into tears. The man the helped us on, held up his arms in an X and said "its ok, she wait for you...take tickets back". He could see she was rattled and directed her to a little waiting area right outside that she could watch while Jeannie and I rode and gave me back her prepaid ticket. It was very nice and she appreciated not begin pushed to go. The ride was AWESOME. Its crossed off my "Japan bucket list" and we got some great photos of our experience.
 |
| Tall enough for all the rides |
 |
| Jeannie and Ava waiting |
 |
| All the rides are paid for individually. No park Admission |
 |
| Selfie before Vanish |
After the ride I felt bad that Ava was so upset and I told her she could pick any other ride that she wanted to go on. She picked a green and yellow spinning coaster ride that, in my opinion, was wayyyyyyyyy worse than Vanish. She loved it! She screamed the whole time
 |
| Super Awesome ride! |
 |
| Vanish going underground |
 |
| Its crazy this surrounds the mall |
and even told me I needed to "calm down". That was until the first big spin when she screamed "OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD"......then before the first big drop, she yelled "OH SHIT." She looked at me with my jaw dropped and quickly apologized for her slip up and said, "Im so sorry, It just came out! I didn't even know!!!" All I could do was laugh. It was funny. Ive never heard anything like that out of her mouth, so it was a SHOCK, but nonetheless funny.
 |
Close up before it disappears
|
 |
| Super fast/jerky/twisty coaster the she picked |
Didn't I say we came to go shopping?? Well we left the park at this point and literally crossed the street to get to the huge shopping towers. But first.......now we're hungry! The question is always do we want to grab quick and normal or "authentic". We saw a sign for Yokohama Hard Rock Cafe and opted to go for "fun" vs. quick or authentic. HRC is just like another stateside one Ive been to. Traditional American bands were showcased and the staff wore their Pin Flair and were the trendiest of trendy Japanese teens and young adults. The food was mediocre, expect Ava's kids meal mac-n-cheese that was "bangin". Im totally getting a kids meal next time! Even the garlic bread had fresh rosemary on it, and it was delicious.
 |
| I can't imagine them making this us! Very Cool! |
 |
| LOVE me some Madonna |
 |
| Checking out the servers PIN flair |
 |
The mandatory "I visited HRC" picture
|
Off to the Malls! At this point we've been out a few hours already. We had a game plan of stores we wanted to hit and made it to all of them. Zara was the only "off the list store" but one of MY new favorite. I didn't have time to shop for me, but they had the cutest clothes for Ava. I am super excited to help her plan the "First day" outfit and decide what Ill take her traditional back to school pictures in. Im really gonna struggle here. Ive always had a photographer lined up and Im really gonna miss having Jenn Curtis, Brandy Hunsicker and in recent years Michelle Marsh to take her pictures for me! Its gonna be tough, but Im determined to get good shots on Blue Street (in town Yokosuka) all on my own! We'll see!
We hit Zara, H&M, Gap and made a quick trip to the good ole' Navy exchange on the way home from the train station.
Ava was excited to hang all her new goodies and do another modeling session when we got home. She looks so grown up in the styles she flocks to now, but not TOO grown up. She's not even 9 yet so Im very particular about the things she chooses, while giving her just enough autonomy that she and I are both satisfied.
(Rant)I saw a picture posted today of a little girl at 10 years old wearing booty shorts and a mid drift top and it got me thinking of what Ill be comfortable with when Ava is 10 and clearly this is NOT it. The photographer was defending herself very defensively and called it "art and beauty". Yeah, no. Call it what you want, I call it asking for trouble. Hyper-sexualizing young girls well before their ready and basically solidifying that they'll end up screen-shotted on some pedophiles home computer! Not my circus, not my monkey. NOT my bugaboo! (End Rant)
All in all, I am super proud of ourselves having accomplished our first BIG shopping trip for her in Japan haven got factor in so many things. Its been the biggest in a few years, since we normally just grab a few pieces here and there since she ware uniforms everyday. Mission accomplished!
Back to School Pics SOON!!!!!